The United Arab Emirates is a constitutional federation and consists of seven emirates: Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Ras Al Khaimah, Ajman, Umm Al Quwain and Fujairah. The country is governed by a Federal Supreme Council made up of the seven emirs. Within each emirate, local governments are based on traditional patriarchal monarchies and ruled by sheikhs from … Continue reading Governance